The South Bay Boardriders Club's Big Wave Challenge Awards were presented April 26 at the Hermosa Beach Community Theatre to kick-off the Surfer's Walk of Fame event that took place the following day.

Winners included Jeff Jones, “Big Wave Challenge Award,” photo by Richard Podgurski; Matt Mohagen, “Best Ride of the Year,” photo by Brad Jacobson; Alex Fry, “Grom Hardest Charger,” photo by Richard Podgurski; Chris Rodriguez, “Best Wipeout,” photo by Shane Balzer; and the Howard Eddy Award for community service to Dickie O'Reilly.

The “Big Wave” winner was Jeff Jones.

Charlotte Sabina and Beck Cherry took home the Jimmy Miller Memorial Foundation/SBBC Scholarship.

Contact this reporter at or on Twitter

Load comments